What to Know Before Investing in Pay-Per-Click Advertising

Every year businesses spend billions of dollars on online advertising. However, for every business that sees excellent results from their pay-per-click advertising, there is a line of other companies that have tried and failed.

Many businesses throw their marketing budget at Google or Facebook and expect to see a growth explosion that mirrors their expectations. Even though Google and Facebook ads have industry-leading ROI, PPC (pay-per-click) advertising is not as straightforward as that.

In this blog, learn about the strengths and weaknesses of paid ads, the B2P (business to people) mindset to have when advertising, and what we do to maximize our clients’ paid advertising effectiveness.

Strengths of Pay-Per-Click Advertising

Compared to SEO (search engine optimization), paid advertising has one huge advantage—speed. While SEO takes at least 90 days to start working with even the most non-competitive keywords, paid advertising starts working right out of the gate. The moment you start paying for ads, people will start seeing them.

Another strength of pay-per-click advertising is its targeting abilities. Depending on the platform you choose to advertise on, you can pick precisely who sees your ads. If you want people named Bob Smith to see your ads, you can do exactly that.

Three different buyer personas next to a graphic of the facebook logo with a target on it.

Finally, PPC advertising makes your CPA (cost per acquisition) calculation straightforward. Because you know exactly how much money you spent on paid ads, you can take that amount and divide it by the number of new conversions. For example, if you spent $1000 on paid ads last month and attracted 40 new customers, your CPA would be $25.

Weaknesses of PPC Advertising

If you had not already guessed, paid advertising revolves around one thing—money. Paid ads are undoubtedly a pay-to-play game where the company with the biggest budget gets the best results. In fact, businesses spent over 40 billion dollars on social media advertising alone in 2020. After all, Google and Facebook are companies that ultimately want to make money just like you.

Because you need to pay for platforms to show your ads, people see your ads when you fund them and don’t when your money runs out. In other words, PPC advertising is entirely budget dependent and ceases to work the moment you stop paying.

The Best Mindset for PPC Advertising

When advertising, many businesses still associate themselves as a B2B (business-to-business) or B2C (business-to-consumer) company. However, we encourage our clients to adopt a B2P mindset—business-to-people.

People are the building blocks of every business. Therefore, B2B businesses do not market directly to companies but instead to their employees. For example, Home Depot is not a self-aware entity that searches the internet for answers to its problems. Instead, Home Depot’s management team are the people responsible for solving problems and stocking their shelves.PPC metrics such as: impressions, cpc, conversions, and clicks showing growth.

With a B2P mindset, your goal is to advertise to the individuals who sway their business’s actions. By doing so, it is possible to keep your business at the top of the employees’ minds so that when they need to solve a problem, they come straight to you.

What We Do to Maximize Our Customer’s PPC Results

Before coming to Farotech for their marketing, many of our clients had tried pay-per-click advertising in the past. Unsuccessfully, they poured money into it and didn’t get the results they had hoped for. With that bitter taste still in their mouth, they often hesitate when we tell them that we will incorporate paid ads into their marketing.

They wonder, “What are they going to do differently than us to get results?” Put simply, we optimize the PPC process to get the best results at the lowest price. We aim to bring our CPC (cost-per-click) as low as possible while improving impressions, click-through rates, and conversions.

To do so, we have a team of experienced marketing professionals who have executed numerous successful marketing campaigns. Instead of hiring a team of full-time marketers, we encourage you to use a team-based approach for your marketing. With a team-based approach, you get all the benefits of hiring full-time marketers while saving at least 40%.

If you want to learn more about pay-per-click advertising made cost-effective and straightforward through a team-based approach, click here.